Servant of Christ Award

Honoring congregations for social service ministry

Annually Lutheran Social Services of the Southwest recognizes a congregation, or partnering congregations, in the Grand Canyon Synod of the ELCA and Pacific Southwest District of the LCMS as recipients of the Lutheran Social Services Servant of Christ Award. The congregations are leaders in social ministry and social justice in their community, have a connection to Lutheran Social Services programs in their area, and faithfully provide financial support for the service ministry of Lutheran Social Services of the Southwest.

Churches are nominated by pastors, Lutheran Social Services of the Southwest staff, church members or individuals in the community. Servant of Christ congregations will be recognized at the annual Synod Assembly and other appropriate venues.

Selection criteria includes:

  • Strength, longevity, or richness of the relationship between the congregation and Lutheran Social Services of the Southwest.

  • A powerful connection to a service offered by Lutheran Social Services of the Southwest.

  • Extraordinary social ministry leadership in their community, whether or not as part of a Lutheran Social Services of the Southwest service.

  • Financial stewardship to Lutheran Social Services of the Southwest, through both congregational support and gifts from individual donors.

2013 recipients

  • Love of Christ, Mesa

  • Lutheran Church of Risen Savior, Green Valley

2014 recipients

  • Tanque Verde Lutheran Church, Tucson

  • Christ the Lord, Carefree

2015 recipients

  • Christ Evangelical, Goodyear

  • Dove of Peace, Tucson

2016 recipients

  • Sierra Evangelical Lutheran Church, Sierra Vista

  • American Lutheran Church, Sun City

2017 recipients

  • St. Luke Lutheran Church, Mesa

  • Resurrection Lutheran Church, Oro Valley

  • Lord of Life Lutheran Church, Sun City West

2018 recipients

  • Desert Hills Lutheran Church, Green Valley

  • Spirit of Joy Lutheran Church, Gilbert